#TheHungerGames midnight premiere, China Claze Capitol Colours

Yes, I was one of the crazies who attended the Hunger Games premiere last night. I strolled into the Monaco at 11:50, after a stressful evening (including almost stalling on the way there because I was so low on gas). It was packed. I had to park in the butthole of the lot, and ran through the rain to get inside before I missed anything. Fortunately my long-time friend, his girlfriend and her BFF were there waiting with my ticket… pre-bought the first day they went on sale. (Erica, you da bomb gurl.)

The movie was fantastic, PG-13 and all. I’m not a die hard fan,but I did have some pretty high expectations, and they were most certainly met. Even with the discrepancies, I left feeling totally satisfied. Cinna! Seneca! Ceasar! Effie! Haymitch! Rue! Peeta, even! And Jennifer Lawrence, how I love thee:

“Yesterday I had to do an interview. I was in a horrible mood. I couldn’t think of basic words. I could see my publicist in the background, mouthing things to say. They want you to be likable all the time, and I’m just not.”

Um, hello Katniss? She was just remarkable, though I admit not as I initially imagined her. I had my doubts. Jennifer Lawrence broke them in half.

Anyway, I am running on four hours of sleep – yes, I did have to go to work after staying up until 3am – so my thoughts are barely cohesive. Pointless posting, maybe, but I was there! I was there and it was amazing and I am going to see it again as soon as possible.

~

It’s time to get silly and girl now. Let me share one of my guiltiest pleasures: nail polish. The gorgeous Hunger Games Capitol Colours by China Glaze have been on my list since I heard about them earlier in the year… yet how’s a girl to decide between all twelve gorgeous shades? Most of the time I don’t care if something is inspired by one pop culture icon or another – I see them as useless and simply for boosting profits – but these really caught my eye. Fortunately I needed some hair color, and stopped by Ulta on the way home yesterday. Right up front was a display for the collection… but the only full-size colors left in the whole store were Mahogany Magic, Dress Me Up, and Foie Gras. As much as I love a good deep brown, I wasn’t interested in MM and I already own a pretty taupe so FG was out, too. DMU was the only color in the whole collection that I really didn’t want, but! Glory of glories! Behold:

L to R: Fast Track, Agro, Smoke and Ashes, Luxe and Lush

Perfect mini-bottles of the colors I craved, for only $13.95. (Though I admit to wanting three or four more different shades as well… I’ve got to stop somewhere!) Smoke and Ashes is my favorite of the bunch. Its application was smooth and it looked perfect after one coat. The bluish shimmer adds a certain mystery to the shade and it stands out amongst my (many) other so-dark-they’re-pretty-much-black polishes. Luxe and Lush is the most fun topcoat I’ve ever owned; I foresee many future uses. The varying flakes of iridescent shine vs. your run-of-the-mill glitter bring it up a notch. Agro is a lovely olive-green that can be worn year round, I think. Fast Track is a demure, shimmering champagne evoking quiet glamor.

Ignoring the terrible state of my fingertips, I wore all four colors last night because I’m crazy like dat:

